• By smallarms
  • / January 15, 2021
  • / archive

The Executive Secretary of the National Commission on Small Arms and Light Weapons, Mr. Jones Applerh has a led a five-member delegation to pay a courtesy call on His Majesty Otumfuo Osei Tutu II at the Manhyia Palace.

The visit was to brief the Asantehene on the prevailing issues concerning the proliferation of arms and the dangers it poses to the country’s security and development and also about the Commission’s sensitization and public education program dubbed “Ballots without Bullets” Campaign.

Executive Secretary – Jones Applerh

Aside from the porous nature of the country’s borders, Mr. Applerh, also attributed politics and elections as one of the major factors that fuel the proliferation of arms.

The delegation shared some of the concerns that were raised during the campaign in some selected Constituencies which have been identified by the Ghana Police Service as being susceptible to gun violence during the elections.

Welcoming the delegation, Otumfuo Osei Tutu II expressed his appreciation for the visit and commended the Commission for their hard work and commitment towards the fight against arms proliferation.

He also applauded them for the “Ballots without Bullets” project which he believes would help curb the gun violence issues before, during and after the elections.

According to the Asantehene, matters surrounding gun violence and arms proliferation should not be taken lightly. Registering his bewilderment on how people can possess arms so easily in the country, he called on the government to take the necessary steps to amend the Arms and Ammunition Act which has been in existence for over 40years.

The delegation presented a peace plague to Otumfuo Osei Tutu II in recognition to the significant role he plays in the country’s peace and stability.

Members of the delegation included Mrs. Adelaide Anno-Kumi, Chief Director, Ministry of the Interior, Col. Isaac Amponsah, Director of Operations of Defence Intelligence-Ghana Armed Forces, Lt. Col. Gargard Dan Kwaning Asare, Senior Ammunition Technical Officer, Mr. Leonard Tettey, Senior Programs Officer, Small Arms Commission and Geraldine Afua Amaning, Communications Officer, Small Arms Commission.