A new governing board of the National Commission on Small Arms and Light Weapons (NACSA) was inaugurated last Wednesday in Accra by the Minister of the Interior, Hon. Ambrose Dery.

The 15-member board consists of Rev. Prof. Paul Frimpong-Manso (Board Chairman), Mr. Jones Borteye Applerh (Executive Secretary, NACSA), Mr. Solomon T. Mensah (Ministry of the Interior), COP George Tuffour (Rtd) (Ministry of National Security), COP Christian Tetteh Yohuno (Ghana Police Service), COP Isaac Ken Yeboah (Ghana Police Service), DCG Laud Kwasi Ofori Affrifah (Ghana Immigration Service), Mrs. Sefakor Batse (Office of the Attorney-General and Ministry of Justice), Mr. Emmanuel Owusu-Boakye (Ghana Revenue Authority).The rest include; Mrs. Mavis Esi Kusorgbor (Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration), Mr. Baffour Dokyi Amoa (Rep. Civil Society Organization), Col. Gaspard D.K Asare (Ghana Armed Forces), Col. Foster Ohene O. Yeboah (Ghana Armed Forces), Mr. Gabriel Nsoh Ade Agana, Brig. Gen. Joseph S. Nkrumah.

The Honorable Minister noted Ghana is widely seen as the beacon of peace and a shining example of democracy. However, effective Small Arms and Light Weapons (SALW) control is challenging because they are easily produced, concealed and transferred.Issues on chieftaincy, land disputes, inciteful language in the media and the security situation in neighbouring countries continue to remain as a challenge to the security of the country.

He therefore charged the newly appointed Board to put in robust measures to effectively control the illicit trade, manufacture and flow of SALW into the country.In his acceptance speech on behalf of the Board, Rev. Prof. Frimpong-Manso thanked His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and his government and pledged to work assiduously with the Ministry and the Commission and also reiterated that strengthening of the Commission has immeasurable preventive benefits domestically and internationally and would remain one of their key priorities.